Sam Mendez Nyman Libson Paul photo by Peter Jones
Sam Mendez Nyman Libson Paul photo by Peter Jones

Critics’ Circle Theatre Awards

Nyman Libson Paul are delighted to have sponsored the Critics’ Circle Theatre awards which took place on Tuesday 30 January.

This is the 14th year that Nyman Libson Paul have sponsored the event and we are honoured to support the very best of British Theatre.

Representing Nyman Libson Paul, Partner Anthony Pins welcomed the gathered luminaries to the awards at the Prince of Wales reflecting that “professional critics see more theatre in a year than most of us do in a lifetime”.

Anthony Pins Nyman Libson Paul photo by Anthony Kelly
Photo: Anthony Pins from Nyman Libson Paul opened the awards with a welcome speech (photo by Anthony Kelly).

Hamilton, one of 2017’s most eagerly anticipated West End premieres won its first award in the UK with Best Musical. Musicals dominated the awards with the National Theatre’s Follies winning Best Director and Best Designer.

Congratulations to Sheila Atim and John McCrea from British musicals Girl from the North Country and Everybody’s Talking About Jamie who were jointly named Best Newcomer. Other awards included Bryan Cranston (Network), Victoria Hamilton (Albion) and Andrew Scott (Hamlet) who all took top acting awards. The Ferryman was named Best Play.

The full list of winners:

The Jack Tinker Award for Most Promising Newcomer

Joint winners: Sheila Atim for Girl from the North Country, Old Vic and Noël Coward Theatre
John McCrea for Everybody’s Talking About Jamie, Sheffield Crucible and Apollo Theatre

The Trewin Award for Best Shakespearean Performance
Andrew Scott in Hamlet, Almeida and Harold Pinter Theatre

Most Promising Playwright
Brandon Jacob-Jenkins for An Octoroon, Orange Tree Theatre and Gloria, Hampstead Theatre

The Peter Hepple Award for Best Musical
Hamilton, Victoria Palace Theatre

Best Designer
Vicki Mortimer for Follies, National Theatre

Best Director
Dominic Cooke for Follies, National Theatre

Best Actress
Victoria Hamilton for Albion, Almeida Theatre

Best Actor
Bryan Cranston for Network, National Theatre

Best New Play
The Ferryman by Jez Butterworth, Royal Court and Gielgud Theatre

Special Award
David Lan for services to theatre