Critics Circle Awards 2011

The media are all a-flurry at the moment over the winners and nominees for the big TV and film awards. Well, next week the UK theatre scene has its turn in the limelight.

Tuesday (January 26) sees the staging of The Critics’ Circle Theatre Awards, with the winners being voted for by their most-discerning audience – the critics themselves.

The awards are in their 22nd year and we are celebrating seven years as the main sponsor of the ceremony.

Last year the big name winners included Rachel Weisz, Jude Law and Mark Rylance – and the names of this year’s lucky recipients are being kept tightly under wraps.

The event takes place at the Prince of Wales Theatre in London in front of an invitation-only audience of theatre’s leading lights.

The event is hosted by Mark Shenton, theatre critic at the Sunday Express and The Critics’ Circle Drama Section Chairman. Critics from the section votes for the winners. As ever, comedian, broadcaster and playright Arthur Smith will provide the warm up.

While NLP are the main sponsors, the event is also generously supported by Delfont Mackintosh Theatres and

The awards were initiated in 1989 to honour London-based theatre and were originally known as the London Theatre Awards.

One or two of us (!) will be taking a few hours away from Regina House to attend and we’ll post our own take on the event next week.